top of page
Writer's pictureKiki Tsang

Lecture with Katie Greenyer

23.02.2024



It is so glad to meet Katie in the lecture. She is super kind and it is enjoyable to listen to her sharing in person. I really like her vibe and energy which we have the same interest on doing different colours on our hair!


It was all about social comics, telling story and political statements through fashion, textile & print. All I wanna do is creating.

It was interesting to see her first job for Red or Dead. Her SS1996 New York Dolls is about social comics of use of women. The way she executed her ideas was super fresh in that runway show, little creepy but inspiring people to think about the social situation of female.



  • Working with Christian from Paris: doing prints



Further, she shared her career about she usually did freelance. But she decided to do everything in her best way after the death of her mother. She realised life is always running out of time so she got a full time job. I agree with her attitude of treasuring time. Life would not wait for us. We really should do our best, be passionate to what we genuinely love.



'Do More of What Matters'
  • Working for Pentland leave in 2000 and returned to the headquarter

  • Starting to use computer and technology, but not that developed, No wifi no AI

  • Starting Design Pool in 2002 for new and young designers

  • Having young designers alumni network around the world

  • Work across Design Pool, Legacy, different charities

 

Katie shared her experience which she is always doing her hobby but working 16 hours a day for it. It is not an easy thing but she feels happy about that. Her passion, effort and attitude are what what I genuinely appreciate her and she inspired me a lot. Personally, I think what she showed us today are the elements I need for doing my hobby happily as a job. Further, her attitude of the inheritance to next generation is extremely impressive. There are lot of talented and successful people in the world. However not everyone has the passion and kindness to be the assistant for the new generation.

  • Always hit your deadline and be on-time and hard working, self-discipline

  • Being hard working

  • All about your attitude

If you wanna work for somebody, do a project/mini projects, think about what you can bring to the business. - Katie Greenyer
 

In my point of view, the sharing of Katie today is a lot more than just about fashion industry. As a person having lack of confidence, sometimes I may doubt myself about my ability and the works I have done. I know I can do everything, just not that confident to believe in myself. But meeting Katie in person, her vibe, her energy and her passion are positively influencing me. At the moment I first saw her this morning, she was shining from her heart inside to the outside, showing her confidence. I can see star appearing in her eyes. What I have learnt from her are:

  • Don't be afraid of being rejected, the worst thing people can do to you is just saying a 'No'! Get rid of it and keep going for what you are passionate to.

  • Be brave to show the world who you are

Her advice and sharing are definitely incredible. The conversation with her is one of the most memorable and treasurable moment in my life with no doubt.

Don't waist the technology, be brave to contact people and treasure every opportunities - Katie Greenyer

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page