top of page
Writer's pictureKiki Tsang

Lecture with Angela Fusco

09.02.2024



This morning we had Angela Fusco, a senior fashion designer graduated from NTU, as a guest lecturer, I really appreciate that she is willing to step out of her comfort zone and push herself to improve. She mentioned that somehow she got lost about her design style. Her situation was totally understandable. It is okay to get lost sometimes. I believe a lot of fashion student in my age may have the same situation even myself. We are too used to limit ourselves in a regular frame. In some way getting lost may provide us some extra opportunities to think about our needs clearly. Further, I admire Angela's perception and sense on detail of fashion trends. This kind of sense may help us to clarify what is happening in the fashion industry.


Further, Angela's positive attitude inspired me a lot. She encouraged us to always ask questions as no questions are stupid questions. There is no need to be ashamed to ask questions or be ashamed of not knowing something. When I was still living in Hong Kong, the society mood and culture was extremely stressful which felt like any mistakes were not acceptable. Oftentimes people would be blamed even just for a little mistake. Perhaps this is the main reason why I personally prefer solving problems by myself more than seeking help or asking questions unless it is in urgent. The fear of other's rejection is somehow relevant. However, the learning culture of the UK and Angela's attitude opened my mind in several ways. Which reminded me about the importance of loosening my tension mentally and the consequences of seeking help. In fact I have nothing to lose for asking questions. On the contrary, I may lose precious opportunities to improve. Hopefully folks who are facing similar challenges could be inspired by people around like Angela.

'No one is ever too big to learn new things.' - Angela Fusco
 

Official website of Angela Fusco: https://angelafusco.com/

Official website of PURPLE BRAND: https://purple-brand.com/

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page