top of page
Writer's pictureKiki Tsang

Lecture with Chris Slesser

19.01.2024


In this morning section, Chris had a lecture with us about AI technology and Sean had a seminar discussing the relevant theme. Chris Slesser is working for Creative UK, a organisation to connect the creative sector together to speak with one voice and helping the new generation in the creative industry.


Chris and Sean shared about the relationship between fashion and social issues, it may be a sad and deep topic. However it made me think of the future of being a pattern cutter. As AI technology develops better and better, part of the works in fashion industry is starting to be replaced by AI. It is very convenient by using AI in a lot of aspects with no doubt, but somehow machines can't 100% replace human craftsmanship. Personally I think AI and technology are more like assistants and tools. For instance I would use LECTRA and CLO3D to help completing the progress of my projects. But probably there is nothing can totally replace the craftsmanship of using pattern paper, pen, scissors and rulers. The texture, the smell, the feeling of using physical tools and fabrics are far too different from communicating with the computer. Also even computer may form bugs and mistakes. They are even more difficult to correct comparing with craftsmanship mistakes.



Also I got some tips about improving my CV from the discussion during the seminar. I should have aded some essential skills in my CV but I missed them before. It is a must for me to edit my CV after.


Official X account of Chris Slesser: https://twitter.com/chrisslesser

Official website of Creative UK: https://www.wearecreative.uk/

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page