top of page
Writer's pictureKiki Tsang

Lecture & Seminar with Sarah Swindell

08.03.2024



It was a great honour to have Sarah chitchatting with us and sharing her career with us today. Her working experience was so impressive, which she is the owner of Watermelon Creative. Sarah has extensive experience in Licensing, Retail and Manufacturing helps gives an exceptional understanding of their clients' needs. I especially found the seminar with Sarah meaningful for us. In the seminar, we separated in small groups and discussed with Sarah and other classmates about the challenges we may face in the future being in the fashion industry.



Undeniably, quite a lot of students are facing the cultural, living and documenting problems, especially for international students. My group also mentioned that we need to face the mental issues of living and dealing with daily problems alone. It is really understandable as I have faced the same the situation when I first immigrate to the UK. Personally I think the most important element to face this situation is the attitude. It is okay to be sad, to be frustrated. Some unfortunate things may happen in your new daily life but the good things are also happening at the same time. Everything would be better than ever after if you get over the first challenge.


More than that, the digital development is one of the main issues affecting the future of fashion industries. During the discussing, Alice mentioned about the rising of technologies and AI techniques. I agree with the point of view from Sarah and Veronica about how they view the relationship between AI and fashion industries. For myself I don't really like doing my garments with too much digital and computer processing included. However I try to access digital technologies like LECTRA and CLO3D due to the MA course, even I still prefer to use the traditional methods but It is not a bad thing for me to at least learn those techniques. It may be helpful at some moments in the future. As part of the fashion industry, we always need to think about the perspective of the audience especially the world and technology is developing speedily. The industry could not follow up and further grow if we don't look forward. Technology would change things but not all of them.

It's still creative, but just in a different way - Sarah Swindell

Sarah is such a enthusiastic and open-minded person. I felt encouraged from her words about how she explained the advantages of being a international student and her point of view about freelance. I have the same point of view with her, which being international and understanding of different cultures is a really beneficial as it would help both you and your employer / company you are working for improve. She also mentioned being a freelance is not a 100% negative work. But we should have our clear expertise in the industry. Companies would come back if we do well in our professions. After her encouragement I felt a bit better from the hopelessness of wanting to be a freelance in the future. Or having 2 jobs at the same time (a proper job + freelancing) may be a feasible way for me to continuously do what I like. I believe there may be more people having similar mindset with Sarah. The world keeps changing. If we just stay in our comfort zone, rejecting new things, we may be phase out.


When we spoke about creating networks, Sarah thought Instagram and blog are very good social media for others to know more about who you are. To be honest I was a bit surprised she didn't use Facebook and did't like Facebook at all! In facts it is fair as comparing with other social media, Facebook is kind of outdated indeed. I am still using it just because of the culture of my cosplay communities. But probably for gaining exposure for my future career, I definitely agree with Sarah's perspective. Her idea further supports my mind of keep operating my blog since I have never used my own blog before this MA. It provides me a perfect way to expose myself with no doubt.


 

CV & Interview Tips from Sarah

  • Proof to your employers that you do a lot of your own work & being hardworking on CV

  • Put on your placement and internships on CV

  • Don't type too long & essay-liked on CV

  • Don't do long letter for applying jobs

  • Bring fabulous portfolio & sketchbooks to interviews

  • Write a cover note is not a bad idea

  • Show a good general education on your CV

  • Put a few lines of personal statements

  • dun be afraid to travel around, tell ppl bout ur experiences, but only things about creativity

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page