top of page
Writer's pictureKiki Tsang

The First & Ever DragCon UK

13.01.2024



This weekend were the great DragCon UK, holding at ExCel London. Not only having fun to meet the drag queens I admire, also I could able to get a detailed observation of the drag garments, further to research the fashion trend in drag communities now. I was gagged when I saw the queens in person. They were all super nice and looking gorgeous. The polaroid garment of Cheddar Gorgeous was extremely impressive for me. Even it was crafted with unconventional materials, the exaggerated silhouette was incredibly amazing and it executed very well. It was not only a garment but also an impressive art piece.

 

Sometimes people may have some stereotypes about femininity on drag. For example, drag queens would always wear breastplate, paddings and corsets. Or drag queens would always wear exaggerated wigs and outfits etc. However in the latest generation, I realised that a lot of drag queens prefer to use their natural bodies or only with corsets. From my observation in DragCon, numbers of garment silhouettes of the new queens are more likely to use general corset as basic. Also there are more simple shapes and designs, the trend is more similar to ready-to-wear. For the fabric use, sparkling sequins are always used to their outfits, which the style is more oriented towards costume type. Literally, sequins and sparkling fabric do make the garment more eye-catching. But personally I prefer plain fabrics with different textures as the main materials. Outfits being gorgeous doesn't mean it must be created by extremely eye-catching fabric. That's why I really enjoy watching the outfit presents of Cheddar Gorgeous, Liquorice Black and Anna Phylactic (they are all in the the same drag family ). Also in DragCon UK, I found a queen, Rodger, caught my eyes which her garment on that day shown out a unique fashion sense. After following her social media I found that she creates her own garment which I super appreciate.




Official Instagram of Rodger: https://www.instagram.com/theonlyrodger/

Official Instagram of Rodger Creation: https://www.instagram.com/rodgercreations/

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page